May 5, 2017
Seven named to first Michigan Blueberry Commission

Not surprisingly, southwest Michigan appointees comprise the initial Michigan Blueberry Commission.

Created on May 1 after a vote by the state’s blueberry growers to create a panel for improving the industry’s economic position and competiveness by supporting research, education and promotion programs, Gov. Rick Snyder tapped seven persons to serve staggered terms.

Dennis Vander Kooi of Allegan will be on the commission through the end of the year; Jacob Clemons and Shelly Ann Hartmann, both of South Haven, along with Grand Junction’s Cheryl Sullins will be on the board through the end of 2018; and Creela Overton Hamlin of South Haven, along with Steven Hunt and James Sumners, both of Grand Junction, will serve through the end of 2019.

After these initial appointments, members of the MBC will serve three-year terms. The state Senate has to sign off on the governor’s selections.

75 Applewood Drive, Suite A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345
Get one year of Fruit Growers News in both print and digital editions for only $15.50. Preview our digital edition »

Interested in reading the print edition of Fruit Growers News?

Subscribe Today »

website development by deyo designs