Oct 18, 2004
Michigan Apple Committee Named New Officers

The Michigan Apple Committee (MAC) has named Bryan Bixby, of Berrien Springs, Mich., as chairman and Julia Hersey, of Casnovia, Mich., as vice chairwoman. At the August board meeting, the seven-member board unanimously voted Bixby and Hersey to their posts.

“As we continue to evolve our marketing leadership and support to Michigan’s apple industry, we could not have two officers more devoted to improving the profitability of apple growing in Michigan,” said Denise Yockey, MAC executive director. “Both put in countless hours attending our meetings, consulting on MAC endeavors and providing guidance and oversight to our staff.”

Bixby is a third-generation apple grower and also grows cherries, grapes and other produce. He also serves as a trustee of the U.S. Apple Association (USApple) and on USApple’s Member Information Committee.

Hersey hails from a long line of apple grower associations. She serves as a USApple trustee and is on USApple’s Public Affairs Committee. She is a member of Michigan Farm Bureau’s Statewide Policy Committee.

For more information on MAC, visit www.michiganapples.com.

75 Applewood Drive, Suite A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345
Get one year of Fruit Growers News in both print and digital editions for only $15.50.

Interested in reading the print edition of Fruit Growers News?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check out our sister sites:
website development by deyo designs