Feb 21, 2023
New members, alternates join U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has appointed 28 members and alternate members to the U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council (USHBC).

They will serve a three-year term ending Dec. 31, 2025. Four of the appointments are exporter members and alternates whose terms will expire at the end of 2024, to remain in the council’s nomination rotation.

There are 12 producers, four importers, four exporters and one public member on the council. Each member seat has a corresponding alternate seat and all can serve up to two consecutive three-year terms.

“The USHBC has an ambitious vision for the future of blueberries,” Kasey Cronquist, president of the USHBC and the North American Blueberry Council, said in a news release. “With these newly appointed members of the council, we’ll be working together to inspire all the possibilities yet ahead for blueberries, while helping to ensure the future success and profitable returns back to our growers.”

New USHBC members are:

  • Doug LaCroix, California producer:
  • Brittany Lee, Florida producer (former Florida Alternate)
  • Tiffany Crosby, Georgia producer
  • Dennis Vander Kooi, Michigan producer
  • Jimmy Horrell, North Carolina producer
  • Ryan Lockman, importer (former alternate)
  • Joe Barsi, importer (former alternate)
  • Mark Adams, exporter (California)
  • Daniel Bustamante, exporter (Peru)
  • Jose Luis Bustamante, exporter (Mexico)

New alternates are:

  • Bill Steed, California producer (former California member)
  • Michael Hill, Florida producer
  • Tammy Brannen, Georgia producer
  • George Fritz Jr., Michigan producer (former Michigan Member)
  • Chelsea Consalo, New Jersey producer
  • Kristen Johnson-Brinkley, North Carolina producer
  • Ellie Norris, Oregon producer
  • Leif Olsen, Washington producer
  • Andrew Maiman, importer
  • Bo Slack, importer
  • Ray Biln, exporter (California, former exporter alternate)
  • Jose Antonio Castro, exporter (Peru)
  • Jose Guillermo Romo, exporter (Mexico)

Reappointed members are:

  • Paul Macrie III, New Jersey producer
  • Doug Krahmer, Oregon producer
  • Bryan Sakuma, Washington producer
  • JC Clinard, importer

Guy Cotton, a former member as a handler, is the lone reappointed alternate.

Tags: ,

Current Issue

Cover image of Fruit Growers News (FGN) July 2024 issue.

Talking tech: New app innovations aid growers

Smart tech wipes out pests: The latest trends in spraying automation

New Geneva rootstocks to help apple growers with size, yield, disease

Georgia peach success: Pearson Farm’s six generations find orchard happiness

FIRA preview: Tree fruit tech options abound at ag robotics conference

Fresh Views: Grapevine disease management tackled

Farm Market & Agritourism: Insights from the 2023 farm markets survey

National Plant Diagnostic Network


see all current issue »

Be sure to check out our other specialty agriculture brands

produceprocessingsm Organic Grower