Apr 12, 2013
New raspberry council formed

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack recently appointed 23 representatives to serve on the first Processed Raspberry Council. Members and their alternates will fulfill staggered terms of two or three years on the council, according to USDA.

Six members and their alternates will represent states producing a minimum of 3 million pounds of raspberries for processing. Members include producers Brad L. Rader, John S. Clark, Rolf G. Haugen, Adam L. Enfield and Ravinder S. Dhaliwal for the state of Washington; Jerry E. Stratton for Oregon; alternates Jonathan K. Maberry, Frank J. DeVries, Mark E. Van Mersbergen, Jon M. Cotton and Erin N. Thoeny for Washington; and Donald G. Sturm for Oregon.

Producer Hector E. Lujan and alternate Michael E. Christensen will represent states producing less than 3 million pounds of raspberries for processing.

Additional appointments include importer members Karen R. Holzberg, Eric A. Larson and Jennifer M. Ryan, and alternates William F. Beadle and Giulia Tanghetti; foreign producer members Antonio Dominquez and Suzxhivinder S. Kahlon; and alternates Gonzalo Bachelet and Arvinder S. Neger.

USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service will provide oversight of the Processed Raspberry Council, in accordance with the Commodity Promotion, Research and Information Act of 1996 and the Processed Raspberry Promotion, Research, and Information Order.

The program is administered by council members selected by the U.S. secretary of agriculture and funded through industry member assessments.

Click here for more information about research and promotion programs. For information on the Processed Raspberry Council, call Kimberly Coy at 888-720-9917, or email [email protected]

75 Applewood Drive, Suite A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345
Get one year of Fruit Growers News in both print and digital editions for only $15.50.

Interested in reading the print edition of Fruit Growers News?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check out our sister sites:
website development by deyo designs