Sep 5, 2023
USDA appoints specialty crops industry members to ag advisory committees

The USDA and U.S. Trade Representative’s Office have appointed 130 representatives to serve four-year terms on seven agricultural trade advisory committees, including the Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade in Fruits and Vegetables.

There are six Agricultural Technical Advisory Committees (ATAC) and an Agricultural Policy Advisory Committee (APAC). The new appointees join another 70 current members on the committees.

usda logo USDA logo US Department of Agriculture New members of the ATAC for Trade in Fruits and Vegetables are:

  • Julie Adams, Almond Board of California
  • William Callis, U.S. Apple Export Council
  • James Cranney Jr., California Citrus Quality Council
  • Casey Creamer, California Citrus Mutual
  • Jodi Devaurs, California Table Grape Commission
  • Melissa Frank-Poole, The Wonderful Co.
  • Dante Galeazzi, Texas International Produce Association
  • Robert Guenther, International Fresh Produce Association
  • Matt Harris, Washington State Potato Commission
  • Matthew Lantz, Cranberry Marketing Committee
  • Brittany Lee, Florida Blueberry Growers Association
  • Fred Leitz, Leitz Farms
  • Xuefang (Cathy) Ma, North Carolina Department of Agriculture
  • Jonathan Maberry, Washington Red Raspberry Commission
  • Kenneth Melban, California Avocado Commission
  • Mike Montna, California Tomato Growers Association
  • Dale Murden, Texas Citrus Mutual
  • Dennis Nuxoll, Western Growers Association
  • Molly O’Connor, CropLife America
  • Kenneth Parker, Florida Strawberry Growers Association
  • Mark Powers, Northwest Horticultural Council
  • Kam Quarles, National Potato Council
  • Harvey Reed, Louisiana Association of Cooperatives
  • Daniel Richey, Riverfront Packing Company
  • Alicia Rockwell, Blue Diamond Growers
  • Michael Schadler, Florida Tomato Exchange
  • Caroline Stringer, California Fresh Fruit Association
  • Carmen Tiu de Mino, Corteva Agriscience
  • James Zion, Meridian Growers

New APAC members representing the specialty crops industry are:

  • Jared Balcom, National Potato Council
  • Aubrey Bettencourt, Almond Alliance
  • Thomas Chapman, Organic Trade Association
  • Karis Gutter, Corteva Agriscience
  • Bob Hawk, The Munger Cos.
  • Richard Hudgins, California Canning Peach Association
  • Michael Joyner, Florida Fruit & Vegetable Association
  • Robert Koch, Wine Institute
  • Andrew LaVigne, American Seed Trade Association
  • David Puglia, Western Growers
  • Daniel Raulerson, Cranberry Marketing Committee
  • David Salmonsen, American Farm Bureau Federation
  • Rayne Thompson, Sunkist

Other ATACs represent animals and animal products; grains, feed, oilseeds and planting seeds; processed foods; sweeteners and sweetener products; and tobacco, cotton, peanuts and hemp.

Current Issue

Cover image of Fruit Growers News (FGN) June 2024 issue.

Modern solar and storage technology can help apple packers stand out

Labor report: Fruit and vegetable growers voice concerns in 2024 labor survey

Tenerelli Orchards exits wholesale, focuses on farmers markets, u-pick

Protecting water supplies through vineyard groundwater recharge

Fresh Views: Pollinator habitats

Farm Market & Agritourism

Ag Labor Review

see all current issue »

Be sure to check out our other specialty agriculture brands

produceprocessingsm Organic Grower