May 21, 2019
APHIS expands European cherry fruit fly quarantine in New York

Effective May 1, 2019, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) expanded the European cherry fruit fly (ECFF) quarantine to include all of Erie and Niagara Counties, and portions of Orleans County, New York.

The quarantine contains approximately 534 acres of commercial cherry production. APHIS is applying safeguarding measures and restrictions on the interstate movement of regulated articles from this area. This measure parallels the intrastate quarantine that the New York State Department of Agriculture and Markets (NYSDAM) initiated on May 1, 2019.

On June 7, 2018, APHIS established a quarantine in the Niagara area of Niagara County. In 2018, APHIS confirmed ECFF in traps in Niagara County, New York. In cooperation with NYSDAM, APHIS is responding to these confirmed detections by expanding the quarantine area to encompass all of Erie and Niagara Counties and portions of Orleans County. The quarantine area covers approximately 1,612 square miles. APHIS is working with NYSDAM to respond to these detections following program survey and treatment protocols. This action is necessary to prevent the spread of ECFF to non-infested areas of the United States.

The expansion of this quarantine area is reflected on the following website, which contains a description of all of the current federal fruit fly quarantine areas:

Current Issue

Startup claims first vertically grown, commercially sold strawberries

FGN’s 60th Anniversary: Farm labor challenges span decades

Tree fruit group targets Michigan growers’ concerns

How California is protecting its winegrapes

Blueberry growers dedicated to organic practices for more than 40 years

SNAP opportunities for your market expanded

Notes from the Farm column: Taking a seat best way to continue with the job

National Council of Agricultural Employers column: Agricultural workforce plays key role in times of crisis

see all current issue »

75 Applewood Drive, Suite A
P.O. Box 128
Sparta, MI 49345


Get one year of Fruit Growers News in both print and digital editions for only $15.50.

Interested in reading the print edition of Fruit Growers News?

Subscribe Today »

Be sure to check out our sister sites:
website development by deyo designs